Image

You know those crazy dreams you have that linger in your mind, popping up from time to time, leading you through hazy daydreams of splendour? I had one of those that has lasted for years, and about six weeks ago I decided to move to the other side of the world to follow it.

As I watched the international departures door slide shut on the life have always known, I realised that this is the first time I have been out on my own. Time to spread my wings and fly. Well not literally, I had some help from an A380, but the point is after a very long flight I touched my two feet down in Manhattan.

Venturing out into the crisp New York air that very first day I felt the exhilaration of independence. There is something slightly magical about being young, free and having one of the most exciting cities in the world at your feet.

